Chinese art

Huge apologies for the lack of posts lately! I have been travelling around China and many of the places I visited were tiny villages out in the country so there was not access to wifi! But now I’m getting back on track and will share all the inspirational bits and bobs I found!

In this post I am sharing with you a piece of art I found in the National Museum in Beijing. This piece immediately caught my attention, I love it! It was a fairly large piece so this photograph is just showing a section of it but I wanted you to be able to see the imagery in more detail.

No two of the carriages look the same, they all have a slightly different figure or colour which made me stand and carefully appreciate every bit of the composition so that I could learn as much as possible from it. The way the figures are almost chasing each other across the piece helps guide the eye of viewer along and makes you feel more involved in it.

This is such an inspiring piece for textile designers! The composition, detail, beautiful colours and motifs used provide so much that we can learn from and apply to our own work! I have seen so many traditional arts and crafts during my trip and now truly appreciate the importance in learning the origin of different crafts and the techniques used.



Leave a Reply

